top of page

Change of Watch & 2023 Award Winners

Berkeley Yacht Club cannot operate without the help of all of our members. We appreciate all that you do. Each year we recognize those who have gone above and beyond with our Club Awards. These awards sit in our dining room with plaques for each of the recipients over the years. The 2023 Award recipients are:

The Matty Matthews Award was named for a member who served on a destroyer in WWII. It is awarded to the member who has contributed most to the club. This year's recipient is Evan McDonald. Evan serves as the Club's treasurer. In addition, he works on the maintenance committee and was vital in getting a new roof on our Club House. Thank you, Evan ,for all you do.

The Unsung Hero Award is given to a member whose contributions are often unnoticed by the other members. This year's recipient is Megan Dwyer. Megan serves on the Beercan Committee (ensuring that the NORs and SIs are updated semi-annually), the Rules Committee (reviewing and updating our House Rules), Website Committee (helping to organize the roll out of the new website) and countless other areas around the Club. Thank you, Megan, for always being there to lend your expertise.

The Victoria Day Memorial Boating Safety Award is named after a member, Victoria Day, who was swept overboard while racing. The award recognizes those who contribute to boating safety. This year's recipient is the Blue Water Foundation. The Blue Water Foundation is an all-volunteer nonprofit dedicated to brining the joy and challenges of sailing to Bay Area under-served youth. Boating safety is a key element in what the Blue Water Foundation teaches. Many of our members assist this foundation. We thank each of them for their contributions to boating safety.

The First Mate Award is given to the member who is pushing, pulling and helping the one who gets all the credit. This year's recipient is Victor Baldwin. Victor had the great wisdom to marry our former Club Manager, Suliana. He is often seen at the Club fixing, cleaning and otherwise helping out. Thank you, Victor, for all you do to support both Suli and our Club.

The Glenn Waterhouse Award was named for our 1967 BYC Commodore who was an Olympic Champion in Star sailboard racing. It is awarded to a member who has contributed to racing activities. This year's recipient is David Scott. David helped form the Beercan Committee several years ago, ensuring that we have both Friday Night Races during the summer and Chowder races in the winter. Thank you, David, for you contribution to racing at BYC.

The Irving Fatt Cruising Award was named for a member who was an avid cruiser and wanted to make sure cruising was recognized and honored at BYC. This year's recipient is Max Perez. Max can usually be found on all of our cruise outs, taking photos and writing cruise summaries for the NHT. Thank you, Max, for helping to keep cruising alive, active and noticed at BYC.

The Bryan Stephenson Memorial Youth Sailing Award is given to a member who promotes and enhances youth sailing at our Club. This year's recipient is Roger Mason. Roger stepped forward to take on the organization of Kid's Camp last year and is planning on expanding the program this summer. Thank you, Roger, for sharing your love of sailing with our youth.

Club leadership also took the opportunity to publicly thank our outgoing General Manager, Suliana Baldwin, and welcome our new General Manager, Nicholas Childress.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page